Ferraro, Rogers headline All-District 23-6A baseball selections

PEARLAND — Pearland had a strong showing with their softball and baseball teams as the Lady Oilers won the District 23-6A crown and the Oilers followed their path to success by winning the baseball 23-6A championship.

Lady Oilers head coach Laneigh Clark was the league's "Coach of the Year" and the baseball coaching peers of head coach David Rogers deservedly named him the 23-6A "Coach of the Year."

Rogers led the Pearland diamondmen to a 34-9-1 season record while advancing to the 6A Region III semifinals before dropping the best-of-three series to Ridge Point 2-1. Pearland was attempting to reach the regional finals for the first time since 2014. The Oilers were 13-1 in league action.

Pitcher/first baseman senior Caden Ferraro of Pearland was named the 23-6A "Most Valuable Player" for his outstanding season. Ferraro played an impact role for Oilers in all phases of the game as he was 12-0 on the mound with a 1.54 ERA while fanning 66. As hitter, he posted a .330 batting average with 18 runs, 31 RBIs, 7 doubles, 2 triples, and 6 HRs.,

Also named to the All-District first-team were: senior pitcher Mark Zapata (0.83 ERA, 8-0, 85 strikeouts), junior first baseman Justin Ogle (.345 BA, 7 runs, 16 RBIs, 5 doubles, 1 HR), and senior outfielder Brett Smajstrla (.471 BA, 14 runs, 9 RBIs, 3 doubles, 1 triple).

Second-team All-District selections were: pitcher Joshua Graf, shortstop Anthony Avalos, outfielders John Moya and Isaiah Castenada.

Highslide JS
Click to enlarge.
ALL-DISTRICT 23-6A FIRST-TEAM - Pearland outfielder Brett Smajstrla was name All-District 23-6A first-team. Smajstrla played a big role in the success of the Oilers baseball season that captured the league crown and advanced to the 6A Region III semifinals. [Photo by Lloyd Hendricks]