Pearland diamondmen receive All-State honors from Texas Sports Writers

  Click to Enlarge Highslide JS

Nico Partida

The Texas Sports Writers Association (TSWA) announced their 2023 All-State teams and several Pearland players were honored by this prestigious organization. The Oilers captured the 23-6A crown and the 6A Region III title while advancing to the 6A state finals.

Named to the All-State first-team was Pearland pitcher Nico Partida and first baseman Caden Ferraro.

Partida was the Co-Most Valuable Player for District 23-6A while posting a perfect 13-0 pitching record for the Oilers. He had a 1.08 ERA, with 77.1 innings pitched, and 82 strikeouts for the Oilers who had 33-6-1 record. The Arizona State commit was the Houston Chronicle Newcomer of the Year. Partida will be a junior next year for the Oilers.

Ferraro hit .389 (49-126), with 14 doubles, two HRs, 27 RBIs, and 24 runs. He will continue his education and playing career at Texas A&M. He was also a member of the All-Greater Houston team.

Named to the All-State honorable mention team was UH signee shortstop Anthony Avalos and Stephen F. Austin signee outfielder Brett Smajstrla.

Pearland head coach David Rogers was a Coach of the Year finalist.

  Click to Enlarge Highslide JS

Caden Ferraro